HHC names All-Conference tennis team

HHC tennis champion New Palestine celebrates its sectional title.

Six singles players and four doubles teams were chosen to the All-Hoosier Heritage Conference tennis team for 2017.

The team members are chosen by nomination and a vote of the coaches, who may not vote for their own players.

HHC champion New Palestine had two singles players and two doubles teams chosen as first-team All-HHC, while runner-up and regional champion Delta had two singles players and one doubles team honored. Greenfield-Central and Shelbyville also had first-team honorees.

At singles, Delta’s Jason Wegener and New Palestine’s Matthew True were unanimous choices. Delta’s Tanner Dishman/Joel Ashman and New Palestine’s Nick Rusche/Colby Wagoner were unanimous selections to the All-HHC doubles teams.

Delta’s Ben Bamidele, Greenfield-Central’s Cole Willis, New Palestine’s Ben Blachly and Shelbyville’s Evan Phares were also selected to the All-HHC team as singles players. The NP doubles team of David Hockett/Dane Reid and Shelbyville’s duo of Luke Asher/Connor Phelps were also selected.

New Palestine’s Des Evans was named HHC Coach of the Year after leading the Dragons to their first conference title since 2010. Four different HHC teams also won sectional titles – Delta, New Castle, New Palestine and Shelbyville.

All-HHC tennis team
Jason Wegener, Sr., Delta*
Matthew True, Jr., New Palestine*
Ben Bamidele, Jr., Delta
Kole Willis, Sr., Greenfield-Central
Ben Blachly, So., New Palestine
Evan Phares, Sr., Shelbyville
Tanner Dishman, Jr./Joel Ashman, Jr., Delta*
Nick Rusche, Sr./Colby Wagoner, Sr., New Palestine*
David Hockett, Sr./Dane Reid, Jr., New Palestine
Luke Asher, So./Connor Phelps, Jr., Shelbyville
*-Unanimous selection

Honorable mention
Tanner Southerland, Fr., Delta
Mason Bussel, Jr., Greenfield-Central
Will Thurlow, Sr., New Castle
Rylan Huntley, Jr., New Castle
Grant Guffey, Sr., New Castle
Carson Gavin, Jr., New Palestine
Walker Stull, Jr., Pendleton Heights
Michael Curtis, Fr./Mason Knight, So., Delta
Brayden Browning, Jr./Sam Frye, Jr., Mt. Vernon
Sam McCarty, Jr./Peyton Meadors, Jr., Mt. Vernon
Nathan Hicks, Jr./Joey Ulrich, So, Yorktown

Coach of the Year: Des Evans, New Palestine


2017 Boys Tennis Standings


Official release