HHC names All-Conference boys basketball team

The 2017-18 HHC champion and sectional champion New Castle Trojans.

The Hoosier Heritage Conference has named 12 players to its 2017-18 All-Conference basketball team.

The 2017-18 HHC champion and sectional champion New Castle Trojans.

The team is chosen by a vote of the conference’s coaches. Seven of the eight schools are represented among the team, with HHC champion New Castle receiving three selections – senior Niah Williamson and juniors Mason Gillis and Luke Bumbalough.

New Palestine, Pendleton Heights and Shelbyville had two selections each. Delta, Greenfield-Central and Mt. Vernon have one selection each. The team featured six seniors – Williamson, Greenfield-Central’s Will O’Connor, Mt. Vernon’s Damari Gatewood, New Palestine’s Gavin Hausz, and Pendleton Heights’ Justin Shupe and Trent Miller.

Daniel Cox of New Castle was voted the conference’s Coach of the Year.

The 2018 Richmond sectional champion Mt. Vernon Marauders.

New Castle went 7-0 in the conference this season and is 25-2 on the season. New Castle won its second HHC title in three seasons and its first outright title since joining the conference. The Trojans and Mt. Vernon (15-9) have won sectional championships and advance to the regional. It is the first time since 2013 that two HHC schools have won sectional titles.

In addition to New Castle, five teams finished tied for second place – Delta, Mt. Vernon, New Palestine, Pendleton Heights and Shelbyville. Six of the eight HHC teams won at least 10 games, and five won at least 15 games this season.

All-Hoosier Heritage Conference boys basketball

Josh Bryan, Jr., Delta
Will O’Connor, Sr., Greenfield-Central
Damari Gatewood, Sr., Mt. Vernon
Mason Gillis, Jr., New Castle
Luke Bumbalough, Jr., New Castle
Niah Williamson, Sr, New Castle
Maximus Gizzi, So., New Palestine
Gavin Hausz, Sr., New Palestine
Justin Shupe, Sr., Pendleton Heights
Trent Miller, Sr., Pendleton Heights
Zach Kuhn, Jr., Shelbyville
Josh Williams, Jr., Shelbyville

Honorable mention
Brian Long, Greenfield-Central
Peyton Meadors, Mt. Vernon
Cade Gentry, Mt. Vernon
Matthew True, New Palestine
Eli Pancol, Pendleton Heights
Sam Lewis, Shelbyville
Bobby Smith, Yorktown

Coach of the Year: Daniel Cox, New Castle

2017-18 Boys Basketball Standings