HHC announces all-conference boys basketball team

Three members each from HHC champion Delta and runner-up New Palestine lead the 2018-19 All-Hoosier Heritage Conference boys basketball team.

The 13-player team features players from six of the eight HHC schools. Ten of the 13 are seniors.

Leading the way are three players from HHC champion Delta, which also is one of two HHC schools to win a sectional title this season. Senior Josh Bryan tallied 24.7 ppg and was third in the league in scoring. Senior Tyler Wilburn and sophomore Brady Hunt also represent the Eagles. Hunt finished second in the HHC at 7.3 rebounds per game and is the lone sophomore honoree. Wilburn was second in the league in field-goal percentage at 55.4 percent.

HHC runner-up and sectional champion New Palestine is also represented by three players. Junior Maximus Gizzi led the conference with 4.6 assists per game and was fifth in scoring at 16.3 ppg. Senior Matthew True tallied 15.9 ppg in the regular season and led the league with a 45.1 percent 3-point average. Junior Dawson Eastes also represented the Dragons. He was fifth in the HHC at 6.6 rebounds per game.

Luke Bumbalough, the HHC’s leading scorer at 31.6 ppg, joined fellow senior Nicholas Grieser as New Castle’s representatives. Shelbyville was represented by Zach Kuhn, who was second in the HHC at 23.8 ppg and led the conference with 9.4 rpg, and Josh Williams, who tallied 15.0 ppg.

Mt. Vernon, which finished third in the league, had two representatives, led by Peyton Meadors, the conference’s fourth-leading scorer (17.1 ppg) and leading free throw shooter (83.6 percent). Cade Gentry also represented MV. Pendleton Heights was represented by Damieon Warrum, who tallied 13.0 points and 5.7 rebounds per game.

Delta’s Mark Detweiler was named HHC Coach of the Year, leading the Eagles to a 26-0 record through the sectional.

The all-conference team is voted on by the conference coaches.

All-HHC basketball team

Josh Bryan, Sr., Delta
Tyler Wilburn, Sr., Delta
Brady Hunt, So., Delta
Peyton Meadors, Sr., Mt. Vernon
Cade Gentry, Sr., Mt. Vernon
Nicholas Grieser, Sr., New Castle
Luke Bumbalough, Sr., New Castle
Maximus Gizzi, Jr., New Palestine
Matthew True, Sr., New Palestine
Dawson Eastes, Jr., New Palestine
Damieon Warrum, Sr., Pendleton Heights
Zach Kuhn, Sr., Shelbyville
Josh Williams, Sr., Shelbyville

Coach of the Year: Mark Detweiler, Delta

2018-19 boys basketball standings