HHC announces All-Conference football team

The 2018 HHC football champion New Palestine Dragons.

Eleven players from HHC champion and 5A No. 1 New Palestine lead the All-Hoosier Heritage Conference football team, which was voted on this week by the HHC coaches.

Runners-up Pendleton Heights (six players), Delta (five players) and Mt. Vernon (four players) were also well-represented on the squad.

Offensively, the team was led by the state’s leading rusher and scorer Charlie Spegal of New Palestine, and dual-threat QBs Zach Neligh of NP and Christian Conkling of Pendleton Heights. New Castle’s Luke Bumbalough and PH’s Eli Pancol, who led the conference in receiving TDs, and double-digit rushing TD back Rylan Cole of Mt. Vernon also lead the offensive group.

Defensively, HHC interceptions leader Tyler Gilland of Delta (6) and the state’s current sacks leader Kyle King of NP (16) lead the squad, which also includes triple-digit tacklers Nicholas Grieser and Stephen Spears of New Castle.

NP’s Kyle Ralph was named Coach of the Year after leading the Dragons to their sixth straight conference title and fourth sectional title in six years.

2018 All-HHC football

OL: Brady Edwards, Sr., Delta
OL: Jake Slotnicki, Sr., Mt. Vernon
OL: Caleb Kundert, Sr., New Castle
OL: Austin Keele, Sr., New Palestine
OL: Alex Cotterman, Sr., New Palestine
OL: Ben Kuhns, Sr., Pendleton Heights
WR: Luke Bumbalough, Sr., New Castle
WR: Colby Jenkins, Sr., New Palestine
WR: Eli Pancol, Sr., Pendleton Heights
WR: Austin Hill, Jr., Yorktown
QB: Zach Neligh, Sr., New Palestine
QB: Christian Conkling, Sr., Pendleton Heights
RB: Rylan Cole, So., Mt. Vernon
RB: Charlie Spegal, Jr., New Palestine
RB: Kamden Earley, Jr., Pendleton Heights
RB: Matt Merritt, Sr., Shelbyville

DL: Nate Southerland, Sr., Delta
DL: Connor Price, Sr., Mt. Vernon
DL: Max Burhenn, Sr., Mt. Vernon
DL: Trenton Williams, Sr., New Castle
DL: Kyle King, Jr., New Palestine
DL: Tremor Bynum, Sr., Pendleton Heights
LB: Brady Pease, Sr., Delta
LB: Mason Hunt, Sr., Delta
LB: Stephen Spears, Sr., New Castle
LB: Luke Ely, Sr., New Palestine
DB: Tyler Gilland, Sr., Delta
DB: Nicholas Grieser, Sr., New Castle
DB: Maxen Hook, Jr., New Palestine
DB: Ryker Large, Jr., New Palestine
DB: Anakin Allison, Sr., Pendleton Heights

K: Alex Kropp, Jr., New Palestine
P: Eric Roudebush, Jr., New Palestine

COACH OF THE YEAR: Kyle Ralph, New Palestine

2019 Football Standings

The 2018 HHC football champion New Palestine Dragons.